So what is vegan wine? It’s down mainly to the fining i.e. clarification of the raw wine. Translucent clear wine is regarded as a positive attribute and it looks better to a potential buyer. You can enjoy unfiltered natural wine but to remove the bits of natural sediment, wineries may use beef gelatine , egg albumin, milk protein and ‘isinglass’ swim-bladder fish products. These animal based proteins are the most effective products to quickly remove cloudy deposits. However safe alternatives for vegans and vegetarians are now available in the form of bentonite, a clay-based product, activated charcoal, silica gel and modified pea protein, which, after fining and filtration, leave no trace of animal-based contaminants.
Natural wines are not fined and filtered and therefore are vegan. They skip the fining practice entirely, but one can have to settle the wine for a couple of years in barrels before it’s clear enough to be bottled or put up with a small deposit in the bottle, which can be removed by decanting. But beware, the descriptors organic and biodynamic refer purely to the way in which the grapes are grown, not the winemaking, so they may or may not be vegan, and it’s worth checking. Helpful bottlers use a special logo: ⓥ or 🅥 Many of our wines are chosen to celebrate the vegan lifestyle and all things natural.